Re-foundation Commission of DP rehabilitates former politicians dismissed by ex-head Lulzim Basha

TIRANA, April 29 – Former ministers and MPs expelled by the former chairman of the Democratic Party (DP), Lulzim Basha are on the list of candidates for the National Council of the Democratic Party.

At Saturday’s meeting of the National Assembly about 1800 delegates will choose between 420 candidates for 150 seats in the new National Council.

It is noted that among the candidates are the former Speaker of the Parliament, Jozefina Topalli, former Ministers Arben Imami, Ardian Turku, Florion Mima and Myqerem Tafaj according to the list published by the Re-foundation Commission on Friday.

At the same time part of the list are also former MPs Adriana Gjonaj, Albina Deda, Aleksandër Biberaj as well as representatives from the Greek minority, Spiro Ksera and Kosta Barka.

In the meantime it was made public the message addressed to the DP deputies to invite them to the National Assembly to be held on Saturday.

“The deliberations of the National Assembly of the Democratic Party will take place tomorrow, Saturday, April 30, 2022,. Pursuant to Article 42 of the Statute of the DP, you are a delegate to the Assembly. The Assembly opens its proceedings at the Palace of Congresses at 10:00 am,” said the message.

“You are asked to withdraw the mandate at the reception at the headquarters of the Democratic Party. Please confirm your presence on no. 0683273805. For a more united, stronger, more open Democratic Party! ” concluded the message.

But as it was announced earlier the supporters of former DP head Lulzim Basha have declared that they will not attend the Assembly and do not recognize its decisions.